Morristown New Jersey Criminal Law Post Morristown New Jersey Criminal Law Post
Menu
Search
The Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)

If you are convicted for a drunk driving (DWI) offense in New Jersey, you will be sentenced to mandatory time at the intoxicated driver resource center (known as “IDRC”). For a first offense, you are facing a mandatory twelve hours which is typically split into 2 six-hour alcohol awareness classes. At the IDRC center you are required to participate in Alcohol and Highway Safety Education programs. At this time, the center will evaluate you for alcohol or drug problems and determine whether or not treatment is necessary. If they decide treatment is needed they will refer you to a minimum 16-week treatment program. You will also have the option of attending a self-help group.

The IDRC will monitor your participation and report back to the courts. By fulfilling these requirements you will take the steps needed to restore your license. Non-compliance will extend your license suspension and may land you jail time as well. There are also several fees and charges involved. The attendance fee is $100 and there are additional fees that will be determined by how many prior offenses you have. There is also a $100 fee to restore your license at the end of the program.

There is an IDRC located in every county in the State of New Jersey for first and third-time offenders. There are three regional IDRC centers for second-time offenders. To locate a center in your county or region you can visit http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/Violations/dui_Intoxicated.htm.

  • Wolfgang Behrle

    Do I need to bring any Perscription Medication or a note from a doctor

  • Jeffrey DiSanto

    I recently completed a 12 hour IDRC course for a DWI conviction. For some reason the counselor decided I needed a further assessment by another counselor to satisfy my requirement. I have been repeately been contacting this center and left repeated messages on multiple answering machines for the last 4 days and have not received a single return call. I even called the morristown IDRC and got another recorded message. I am doing everything I can to complete my obligation and these people dont even have the decency to return my phone calls. They say I have to make an appointment by 9/5 but how can I do this considering the circumstances. This is BULLSHIT! Please advise me of my options. Thanks

    Jeff DiSanto

  • http://www.morristownnjcriminallawpost.com/promo/about/about.html Travis Tormey

    There’s nothing else you can do except continue to contact them so you can satisfy your IDRC requirements and get your license restored.