Morris County Simple Possession of Marijuana Charges

Rockaway Township NJ Marijuana Attorneys Fight Drug Crime Charges

Rockaway Township Marijuana AttorneysThe Morris County NJ marijuana defense lawyers at the Tormey Law Firm recently achieved another huge success when defending a client against charges for possession of a controlled dangerous substance (CDS) in Rockaway Township Municipal Court.

Our client was a passenger in a car traveling on Route 80 in Rockaway, Township, New Jersey. A New Jersey State trooper pulled over the vehicle and allegedly smelled an odor of burnt marijuana coming from inside the car. The trooper then conducted field sobriety tests on the driver and determined that the driver was operating the car while under the influence of marijuana. The trooper later searched the motor vehicle for contraband and reportedly found a small amount of pot in the passenger seat.

Police subsequently arrested the driver and charged with him driving under the influence (DUI) pursuant to R.S. 39:4-50, being under the influence of marijuana pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(b), possession of a CDS in a motor vehicle pursuant to R.S. 39:4-49.1, and simple possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a)(4). Since our client was present in the car, he was also arrested and charged with simple possession of marijuana.

Tormey Law Firm Fights Marijuana Charges in Morris County, NJ

The passenger hired the Tormey Law Firm to represent him in the case and defend him against the drug crime charges. Our experienced legal team carefully analyzed the facts and the evidence, including a recording from the NJ State trooper’s patrol vehicle. Our hard work on behalf of the client proved very useful when negotiating with the Rockaway Township prosecutor. We eventually got the prosecution to agree to dismiss the charges against our client.

Serious Penalties for Marijuana Possession in New Jersey

N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a)(4) stipulates that the possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana is a disorderly persons offense. The criminal code specifically sets forth that it is illegal for anyone, knowingly or purposely, to obtain, or to possess, actually or constructively, a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog, unless the substance was obtained directly, or pursuant to a valid prescription or order form from a practitioner, while acting in the course of his professional practice, or except as otherwise authorized by law. Anyone who violates this section of the NJ Criminal Code with respect to possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana, including any adulterants or dilutants, is considered a disorderly person.

The penalties for a disorderly persons offense (or misdemeanor) in New Jersey include fines of up to $1,000 and six months in the local county jail. Additionally, N.J.S.A. 2C:35-15 calls for the imposition of a Drug Enforcement and Demand Reduction (“DEDR”) penalty of $500. Beyond that, N.J.S.A. 2C:35-16 stipulates that the court can also suspend the offender’s driver’s license for up to two years if the offense is the possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana.

The consequences of a marijuana possession conviction in New Jersey are severe and need to be taken seriously. If you were recently arrested in Morris County and charged with possession of marijuana, you need to speak with the experienced marijuana possession lawyers at the Tormey Law Firm. We have handled countless marijuana possession cases in Morris County Superior Court and municipal courts across Morris County and we can defend you against your charges.