Travis J. Tormey and the criminal defense lawyers at the Tormey Law Firm, LLC recently defended a client against underage drinking charges.
The penalties for underage drinking in New Jersey can be severe. As set forth by N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15, a person under the legal age to purchase alcohol can be sentenced to up to six months in county jail and fined as much as $1,000.
The client in this case was an 18-year-old man who was scheduled to leave for the Marines. He had no prior criminal record, but was nonetheless looking at serious penalties when he answered for the charges in Parsippany Municipal Court.
Luckily for our client, the experienced criminal and DWI defense lawyers at the Tormey Law Firm, LLC were able to negotiate a favorable deal with the municipal prosecutor. Our client agreed to plead guilty to a downgraded local ordinance violation, which resulted in a fine and no jail time. Additionally, the plea deal meant that our client was able to keep his record clear of a DWI conviction. The result in this case was a major success for the Tormey Law Firm, LLC. The client was extremely happy to preserve his future and maintain his clean record.
If you are facing DWI/DUI charges in New Jersey, contact Morristown NJ criminal defense attorney Travis J. Tormey for a free consultation about your case.