The Tormey Law Firm recently helped a client get her Morris Township DWI charge dismissed.
Our client was actually charged under the New Jersey DWI statute even though she was not driving the vehicle; her friend was pulled over while driving a vehicle registered to our client.
Our client was asleep in the passenger seat while her friend, the driver, performed field sobriety tests. When the driver failed the field sobriety tests, she was taken to police headquarters and charged with drunk driving.
Amazingly, our client was also charged with a violation of the DWI statute for allegedly allowing an intoxicated person to operate her motor vehicle.
New Jersey DWI laws are structured in such a way that allowing another person to drive while intoxicated is treated just as seriously as driving while intoxicated. In this case, our client was facing significant penalties, including up to 30 days in county jail, suspension of her driver’s license for 3 months, and $1,000 in annual Motor Vehicle Commission surcharges for three years.
The Tormey Law Firm understands the nuances of DWI laws in New Jersey. As a result, we were able to successfully argue that our client’s DWI charge should be dismissed because the prosecution’s evidence was insufficient. The client was thrilled with this result because it allowed her to maintain her driving privileges and stay out of jail. This outcome represented a major victory for The Tormey Law Firm.
If you are facing drunk driving charges in New Jersey, contact Morristown NJ criminal defense attorney Travis J. Tormey for a free consultation about your case.