State police looked into a hit-and-run accident that involved a State Police vehicle on Route 287 in Parsippany, NJ.
A small-sized SUV allegedly sideswiped a State Police Cruiser near mile-marker 42 on Route 287 South last month.
According to a State Police spokesman, the collision was violent enough to cause the state trooper’s car to make contact with the guardrail.
Police said that the driver of the SUV did not step after the accident. While that driver fled the scene, the state trooper in the police vehicle was unable to continue driving. Although the car sustained minimal damage, the trooper did not pursue the other driver. The police vehicle was later taken back to the police station.
Thankfully, the trooper was not injured in the accident, which police are treating as a hit-and-run accident.
In New Jersey, leaving the scene of an accident is governed under N.J.S.A. 2C:39:4-129. The statute lays out the penalties for hit-and-run accidents, which can include a $400 fine, driver’s license suspension, and up to 30 days in jail. If the accident results in personal injury or death, an offender can be sentenced to six months in jail. In this case, the suspect could also additional charges of reckless driving.
For more information about this incident, access the NJ.com article entitled “SUV Sideswiped State Police Car and Fled, Cops Say.“
If you’ve been charged with a traffic violation in New Jersey, contact Morristown NJ criminal defense attorney Alissa D. Hascup for a free consultation about your case.