In New Jersey, a ticket for driving without insurance is governed by N.J.S. 39:6B-2 which provides in pertinent part:
§ 39:6B-2. Penalties
Any owner or registrant of a motor vehicle registered or principally garaged in this State who operates or causes to be operated a motor vehicle upon any public road or highway in this State without motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required by this act, and any operator who operates or causes a motor vehicle to be operated and who knows or should know from the attendant circumstances that the motor vehicle is without motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required by this act shall be subject, for the first offense, to a fine of not less than $ 300 nor more than $ 1,000 and a period of community service to be determined by the court, and shall forthwith forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of one year from the date of conviction. Upon subsequent conviction, he shall be subject to a fine of up to $ 5,000 and shall be subject to imprisonment for a term of 14 days and shall be ordered by the court to perform community service for a period of 30 days, which shall be of such form and on such terms as the court shall deem appropriate under the circumstances, and shall forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle for a period of two years from the date of his conviction, and, after the expiration of said period, he may make application to the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles for a license to operate a motor vehicle, which application may be granted at the discretion of the director. The director’s discretion shall be based upon an assessment of the likelihood that the individual will operate or cause a motor vehicle to be operated in the future without the insurance coverage required by this act. A complaint for violation of this act may be made to a municipal court at any time within six months after the date of the alleged offense.
Failure to produce at the time of trial an insurance identification card or an insurance policy which was in force for the time of operation for which the offense is charged creates a rebuttable presumption that the person was uninsured when charged with a violation of this section.
My law firm represents clients charged with driving with a suspended license, speeding, and driving without insurance throughout New Jersey including in Woodbridge, Parsippany, Dover, and Denville. A violation for driving without insurance has serious consequences in New Jersey. For a first violation, the fine is up to $1,000.00, a one (1) year license suspension, community service, and motor vehicle surcharges. For a second violation of the above statute, it is a mandatory two (2) year license suspension, up to a $5,000.00 fine, thirty (30) days community service, and up to fourteen (14) days in the county jail.